Home Science Class 12 Syllabus

In class XII, the emphasis is on "Work and careers" through the life span. Within the curriculum the significance and scope of each domain (Foods and Nutrition, Human Development and Family Studies, Fabric and Apparel, Resource Management and Communication and Extension), the multiple thrust areas emerging within them have been emphasized.

Exam Structure

Unit Chapter Marks
1 Work, Livelihood and Career 5
2 Nutrition, Food Science and Technology 23
3 Human Development and Family Studies 10
4 Fabric and Apparel 17
5 Resource Management 10
6 Communication and Extension 5
  Total 70 

Unit I: Work, Livelihood and Career

  • Work, livelihood and Career

Unit II: Nutrition, Food Science and Technology

  • Clinical Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Public Nutrition and Health
  • Food Processing and Technology
  • Food Quality and Food Safety

Unit III: Human Development and Family Studies

  • Early Childhood Care and Education
  • Management of Support Services, Institutions and Programmes for Children, Youth and Elderly

Unit IV: Fabric and Apparel

  • Design for Fabric and Apparel
  • Fashion Design and Merchandising
  • Care and Maintenance of Fabrics in Institutions

Unit V: Resource management

  • Hospitality Management
  • Consumer Education and Protection

Unit VI: Communication and Extension

  • Development Communication and Journalism