Problem Solving Assessment (PSA) for Class IX and XI

CBSE introduced Problem Solving Assessment (PSA) Test for Classes IX and XI standard students. The first CBSE PSA test was held on 14 February, 2013. The second such test (CBSE PSA 2014) was conducted on 18 January 2014.

Problem Solving Assessment is mandatory for all students of Class IX and Class XI. There is no specific syllabus for Problem Solving Assessment. It will assess the Life Skills relating to the following three areas:

  1. Quantitative Reasoning
  2. Qualitative Reasoning
  3. Language Conventions


  • Date of Exam: 20 November, 2014

PSA Test Pattern

There are 60 Multiple Choice Question (MCQ) that carry 60 marks (Earlier total marks were 90). This has to be answered in 2 hours. Each question weighs 1 mark and there is no negative marking for wrong answers.

Test Context Domain Number of Questions Sub Total
Qualitative Reasoning    
Stand Alone MCQ 6 18
Passage Based MCQ Set #1 6
Passage Based MCQ Set #2 6
Quantitative Reasoning    
Stand Alone MCQ 10 18
Passage Based MCQ Set #1 4
Passage Based MCQ Set #2 4
Language Conventions    
Grammar & Usage 8 24
Vocabulary 8
Passage Completition 8

The questions contains aspects of 21st Century Skills (Creative Thinking, Decision Making, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Communication) that lead to success at Secondary Stage. These questions assess your ability to process, interpret and use information rather than assessing prior subject matter knowledge.

Life Skills

World Health Organization (WHO) defines life skills as abilities for adaptive and positive behavior that enable individuals to deal effectively with the demands and challenges of everyday life. The ten core Life Skills listed by WHO are - Self Awareness, Empathy, Critical Thinking, Creative Thinking, Decision Making, Problem Solving, Effective Communication, Interpersonal Relationships, Coping with Stress, and Coping with Emotions.

PSA For Class IX and X

The Problem Solving Assessment will be counted towards FA-4 which is 10% of total assessments of Class IX. This assessment will also be carried forward towards the FA-4 in Class X. This score will be reflected in one Language (English or Hindi), Mathematics, Science and Social Science for Class IX and for Class X. The same score will be reflected in FA-4 for class IX and Class X.

Improvement in PSA Score

You will have the option to improve your PSA Score in Class X, as you can sit for the test with Class IX students of the next academic session. The best score will be reflected in the final certificate in case of you are applying for improvement.