Grading System and CGPA in CBSE

As per the new CCE (Continuous & Comprehensive Evaluation) system of evaluation in CBSE, only grades are displayed in your progress card. However, marks are given while evaluating the answer sheets and these marks are then converted into grades at later stage.

In class 10 Report card, Grades of class 9 subjects are also mentioned but CGPA and percentage is calculated from class 10 marks only.

Qualifying Grade

The minimum qualifying grade for passing the exam is grade D. Students getting E1 or E2 grades, will have to sit is re-examination within a month.

Marks  Grades  Grade Points 
91-100  A1  10 
81-90  A2 
71-80  B1 
61-70 B2 7
51-60 C1 6
41-50 C2 5
33-40 D 4
21-32 E1 0
20 and below E2 0


Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) is also reflected in the Statement of Subject wise Performance in the Certificate of Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation. CGPA is the average of Grade Points obtained in all the subjects excluding sixth additional subject.

You can use the following formula to calculate overall CGPA:

CGPA = sum of Grade points (main 5 subjects) divided by 5

To calculate percentage from CGPA, multiply it with 9.5.