CBSE Skill Education for Middle School (Class VI, VII, VIII)

The CBSE has decided to offer students the flexibility of making a vocational choice of a short duration module, of 12 hours for each module, at a stage in their early academic career (either at Class VI, VII or VIII).

In this way they will be able to spend relevant time period pursuing this choice as per convenience of school, while benefitting from access to courses that are broader based. This would give them the necessary orientation early on, so that they are able to make a choice at a later stage to pursue Skill courses at Secondary and Senior Secondary level, or choose a higher vocational degree.

In essence this flexibility will keep multiple career possibilities open for each student, instead of the current situation of rigidity once the first choice is made.

The following Skill Modules are being offered for students:

  1. Artificial Intelligence
  2. Beauty & Wellness
  3. Design Thinking
  4. Financial Literacy
  5. Handicrafts
  6. Information Technology
  7. Marketing / Commercial Application
  8. Mass Media
  9. Travel & Tourism


The main objective of these modules is to develop a readiness for understanding and appreciating the various skills and their application in our lives.


At Middle level (Classes VI to VIII), one Skill Module of 12 hours duration can be offered as an option to the students for single academic session as per convenience of Schools.

Schools and students are free to opt for a Skill Module either at class VI or class VII or class VIII. The marks distribution for each Skill Module is as follows:

  • Theory: 15 marks
  • Practical: 35 marks
  • Total: 50 marks

The assessment is done internally by the school as per the above mentioned marks.