CBSE Proficiency Test

CBSE Proficiency Test is optional and students appearing in class X exam are eligible to take the test. CBSE conducted the first Optional Proficiency Test in the subject of English, Hindi, Mathematics, Science and Social Science for Class-X students in the month of July, 2011 as a part of ongoing examination reforms.

What is CBSE Proficiency Test?

Proficiency test measures your abilities and skills in a domain or subject to know how well you have learned, understood and internalized the related concepts and principles. It focuses on assessing your abilities and skills to apply knowledge and understanding of any subject to new and unfamiliar everyday life situations.

The broad objectives of the test include benchmarking of skills and higher mental abilities of students, providing motivation to students for academic excellence in the respective subjects, providing feedback to schools on levels of learning of their students and setting goals, priorities and targets in their future educational plans.

CBSE Proficiency Test 2014 Schedule (Revised)

It is optional in nature. Only those students who wish to take this test willingly may appear. CBSE Proficiency Test will be conducted in April 2014.

Day Date Subject
Monday 21 April, 2014 English
Tuesday 22 April, 2014 Mathematics
Wednesday 23 April, 2014 Science
Thursday 24 April, 2014 Social Science
Friday 25 April, 2014 Hindi

The test is conducted in five main subjects studied by a student in standard X. However, you can appear in one or more subjects depending upon your choice. It is a paper-pen test to be administered on the same day across all willing schools in India.

Exam Fees

  • One subject: Rs. 300 only
  • Two subjects: Rs. 400 only
  • Three subjects: Rs. 500 only
  • Four or five subjects: Rs. 600 only

Format of the Question Paper

All questions are of multiple choice type with only single correct answer. You are required to mark the answers on a given OMR sheet. Question paper in every subject carries 100 marks. The duration of the test in every subject is 2 hours and 30 minutes. The test is based on classes IX-X syllabus in the subject prescribed by the CBSE. There is negative marking for wrong answers.